Idaho Governor’s Salmon Workgroup Sets First Meeting This Month; Seeking Unified Salmon Recovery Policy

Idaho Gov. Brad Little’s Salmon Workgroup, formed to help shape the state’s salmon recovery policies, will hold its first meeting June 28 from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. in the Idaho Room at the Idaho State Museum in Boise.

The meeting is open to the public, an Little is scheduled to address the group at 8:30 a.m.

Little directed his Office of Species Conservation (OSC) in April to assemble a workgroup dedicated to addressing salmon issues.

The workgroup brings together diverse stakeholders to collaboratively develop a unified policy recommendation to assist Little as he shapes Idaho’s policy on salmon recovery.

“Idaho has shown time after time we are a leader in collaborative conservation efforts in the Northwest,” Little said. “I sincerely look forward to receiving the policy recommendations from my Salmon Workgroup. Together we will develop effective salmon and steelhead policy for Idaho to ensure that abundant and sustainable populations of salmon and steelhead exist for present and future generations to enjoy.”

The agenda and call-in number for out-of-town residents to participate, along with additional information about the workgroup, is available on the OSC web site here:

The workgroup will host several meetings throughout Idaho to provide opportunities to share perspectives on salmon policy in Idaho. The meetings will be announced in the coming weeks.

A press release from the governor’s office said the workgroup “brings together leaders in our communities to develop Idaho-based, innovative approaches to Idaho salmon and steelhead policy. Workgroup members include representatives from industry, conservation, sportsmen, state and local leaders, and various other stakeholders.”

Members include:

Paul Arrington – Idaho Water Users Association

Merrill Beyeler – Former State Representative/Rancher

John Simpson – Barker Rosholt & Simpson LLP

Brett Dumas – Idaho Power

David Doeringsfeld – Port of Lewiston

Will Hart – Idaho Consumer Owner Utilities Association

Jim Yost – Northwest Power and Conservation Council

Scott Hauser – Upper Snake River Tribes Foundation

Ladd Edmo – Shoshone-Bannock Tribes

Joe Oatman – Nez Perce Tribe

Kira Finkler – Trout Unlimited

Justin Hayes – Idaho Conservation League

Mark Menlove – The Nature Conservancy

Brian Brooks – Idaho Wildlife Federation

Stacey Satterlee – Idaho Grain Producers

Senator Dan Johnson – Pro-Tem designee, Idaho State Senate

Representative Fred Wood – Speaker designee, Idaho House of Representatives

Richard Scully – Sportsman

Aaron Lieberman – Idaho Outfitters and Guides Association

Roy Akins – Idaho River Community Alliance

Scott Pugrud – OSC Administrator

More news from CBB: