Idaho Taps Former IDFG Director To Serve On Northwest Power/Conservation Council

Idaho Gov. Brad Little has appointed Ed Schriever, retired executive director of Idaho Fish and Game, to a seat on the Northwest Power and Conservation Council, replacing longtime Council member Jim Yost.

Schriever retired after 39-years at IDFG, serving as director from January 2019 through January 2023. At his retirement, he was the longest-serving employee in the agency, and the last 15 years of his service were in three different executive leadership positions: executive director, deputy director of field operations, and fisheries chief.

“Ed’s pragmatic approach at Idaho’s Fish and Game will work great here on the Council,” said Council Chair Jeff Allen as he introduced Schriever at this week’s Council Fish and Wildlife Committee meeting. Schriever will serve on that committee.

Schriever has a deep understanding of the Federal Columbia River Hydropower System and related fisheries issues. He represented Idaho in the negotiations of the northern and southern Idaho wildlife mitigation agreements with Bonneville Power Administration, and the purchase and construction of Idaho’s Springfield Snake River Sockeye Hatchery, Council information says.

He represented the Western Association of Wildlife Agencies on the National Fish Habitat Partnership Board of Directors from 2008 until 2020, serving as Chairman from 2018 through 2020.

Schriever has extensive experience with the wildlife side of fish and wildlife management as well, serving as co-chair of the Idaho Wolf Depredation Control Board and on the Idaho Animal Damage Control Board. He served on the board of directors of the Intermountain West Joint Venture, the Inter-agency Grizzly Bear Executive Committee, and the Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee. Ed also served on the board of directors and executive committee of the Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies.

Yost was appointed to the Council by Idaho Gov. Butch Otter in 2007, making him one of the longest serving members in the Council’s history. Washington Council member Tom Karier of Spokane served from 2003 through 2018.

Council members serve by appointment from their governors. Two are appointed from each of the four Northwest states. Three of the states have full slates of Council members. Washington’s Guy Norman recently left the Council and has yet to be replaced by Gov. Jay Inslee.

The terms of office of Council membership vary by state. Some serve three-year terms, others are more open-ended, depending on the governor and the state legislatures.

For more information about the Council go to

More news from CBB: